Council Members
Derek Drew-Smith

Ward: East

Derek Drew-Smith (Chair)

Councillor (East Ward)

Derek was elected Chair of the Council at the meeting held on 9th May 2024 and he sets out his vision statement below:

As the newly elected chairman of our parish’s community council, my vision is to foster a community where every voice is heard, every member feels valued, and inclusivity is our cornerstone. I envision a parish where health, wellbeing, and safety are not just priorities, but integral parts of our daily lives. Together, we will strive to create a nurturing environment that promotes physical, mental, and emotional wellness for all residents.

In stewardship, we will continue working with all stakeholders on the responsibility of preserving and enhancing our community’s natural beauty and resources for future generations. Our governance will be transparent, accountable, and responsive to the needs of our diverse community, ensuring fairness and equity in all decision-making processes.

Through collaboration, empathy, and innovation, we will tackle challenges head-on, seeking creative solutions to address the evolving needs of our community. Together, we will build bridges, break down barriers, and create a community where everyone feels a sense of belonging and pride.

I am committed to leading with integrity, empathy, and dedication, working tirelessly to realise this vision of a vibrant, inclusive, and thriving community for all.

Together, we’ll create a vibrant, cohesive community where everyone feels a sense of belonging and pride. With active participation, we can realise this vision, fostering a parish that thrives on inclusivity, resilience, and collective prosperity.